Skip to content

Taking in criticism

September 22, 2009

frustration

What do you do when your graphic work is verbally torn into shreds by your professor or client? Today that happened to me in class where I felt my self confidence as a designer slowly diminish into the lint inside my jean pocket. But there’s hope, and I try not to be ultra sensitive during critiques and take anything personal. But today at work I really thought about harsh criticism. I thought I’d share ways of coping.

1) Don’t take it personal. That’s one thing I had to really tell myself. I’m a very sensitive person so anyone criticizing my artwork/graphic work tends to travel into my heart. Therefore, don’t take it personal. It’s not about you as a person. Keep reminding yourself that.

2) Stay positive. This doesn’t mean that your piece “totally sucks” and has no hope. Look at it as an opportunity to challenge you and to improve you as a designer. Quality design doesn’t appear within only 10 minutes of work. It’s a process and you have to keep making changes in order somewhere significant with your work.

3) Consideration Take into consideration what that client or professor is saying. Take notes to yourself what your client/professor is saying in how you can approve that piece.

4) Start working Dwelling and moping will only keep your behind in life and won’t let you progress or grow. Start brainstorming, start sketching and come up with different concepts. Action is always better than staying stagnant. If you’re completely stumped, give yourself a break and do something to clear your mind. Then start with a clean state.

Good luck!

❤ Shereen

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 22, 2009 4:32 pm

    This is great advice. I too, tend to take critiques to heart. Especially when they come from people I love like Glenn lol.

Leave a Reply

